Home General Discussion
Options

Complexities of taste

I've smoked 3 cigars so far. They really did taste similar to each other. I mainly tasted tobacco flavor. I know in some descriptions of cigars, that there are many more tastes to fine cigars, like leather, or cocoa, and a vast array of other tastes. I want that. I want to taste all the flavors. Is this acquired or am I taste bud deficient? :)

Comments

• Options
    jlmartajlmarta Posts: 7,881 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Salem:
    I've smoked 3 cigars so far. They really did taste similar to each other. I mainly tasted tobacco flavor. I know in some descriptions of cigars, that there are many more tastes to fine cigars, like leather, or cocoa, and a vast array of other tastes. I want that. I want to taste all the flavors. Is this acquired or am I taste bud deficient? :)

I've been smoking cigars for a few years, now, and I don't taste those things, either. I'm told one must develop their palate but I think mine must be developmentally disabled.

Give it time. It'll come to you. At least that's what they say.
  • Options
    KingoftheCoveKingoftheCove Posts: 937 ✭✭✭
    Salem:
    "Taste" is a very individualized phenomena
    Read Kuzi's piece on developing your palette
    Those cigars may in fact have been alike??
    It takes time, even if you do have a refined palette.

My palette is a bit rough (multiple broken noses, nose surgery, 40 years of cold water surfing, etc.) - I don't detect nearly all the flavors that some do, but I can detect coffee, leather, chocolate, "sweetness", sometimes a nutty flavor of sorts, and GOOD tobacco flavor.....there's plenty of tobacco that's not good, and I tell the difference.
    As Kuzi will say.......keep practicing......

• Options
    DirewolfDirewolf Posts: 3,493