Home Cigar 101
Options

macanudo-opinions needed

kodkod Posts: 41
So i have spent the last few months on the ccom forum and i have seen many posts calling macanudos bad. I have never tried a macanudo before, and i dont plan on it any time soon due to all the threads on ccom. And i am just a little curious, are macanudos a bad smoke or is it just a few people on ccom that hate them.

Comments

• Options
    Big DeanBig Dean Posts: 120
    I have only had one macanudo and it was the crystal(tubed one.) This was when I was very new to smoking cigars and I really enjoyed it. From what I've heard on this forum it seems like people are saying that a macanudo is ok for a beginer but lacks complexity for a seasoned veteran.
  • Options
    kaspera79kaspera79 Posts: 7,257 ✭✭✭
    I would not call them a bad cigar. It is probably one of the best selling cigars in the united states, and I would bet that most people here have tried one. The original is very mild and pretty one dimensional with a taste that is always the same. While they do make a Maduro which offers a bigger taste, and a rather full robust label as well. There are a lot of other cigars that offer more flavor and strength that a long time smokers can appreciate. I still have Macanudos in my humidor, it's just that I don't go to them very often. They are a good cigar to introduce newer or first time smokers to which is why I will keep them, to share with friends who are not as serious about cigars as I am. I think in general they are a pretty decent cigar.
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    they arent bad. but they are beginners cigars because they are so mild that just about everyone can handle them. they also have less taste. They are the bud light of cigars. nothing wrong with bud light, i just like a more complex brew better.
  • Options
    madurofanmadurofan Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭
    I'd say they are closer to the Natty light of cigars. Its pretty good when you don't know any better.