Home General Discussion
Options

Building a Humidor?!?!?!?

I'm new to cigars and incredibly excited about it.  So in my enthusiasm I bought a humidor and its rediculously small (10 Cigars).  I find it very hard to keep the humidity and temperature inside consistent.  I'm going to build a medium to large humidor about 100 cigar capacity.  I use to be a cabinet maker so the task isn't really daunting but I would love any input on doing this and I would love to see examples of humidors you guys may have built.  Thanks for anything you can offer!

Comments

• Options
    j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    One recommendation: Build it for more than 100 cigars. If you think a 10 count is ridiculously small, give a 100 count about 2-3 months and see how much room you have left in it.

What was that rule about humidor sizing? "Take what you think you want, double it and add 50"? Ehh, something like that. :)

Good luck!

Joe
  • Options
    ashmasterashmaster Posts: 237
    Never built a humidor so can't help you with that, sorry. Joe is absolutely correct when it comes to the size. Besides, if your going to take the time to build a 100 count it won't take that much more to build a 250-300 count. Might as well get the sizing down, you might need more than one, down the road that is.
  • Options
    firemshllfiremshll Posts: 19
    I'm a newbie and I say build one as big as you can....HAHA. I bought a 150 count and that sucker is getting near full already (I've had it a month). Cigars are a fever and believe me, once you are hooked, you are hooked. You will end up going to a B&M and buying more than you anticipated. I'd recommend building a 300 count as well. I'd love to hear how you build it and see some finished photos! Good luck!
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    ive never built one. but, i have thought about it very much. again go as big as you can. i would also reccoment a 300 ct. and i have a few links that may help you: