Home Cigar 101

few questions about humidors

I'm new to the cigar world, loving it so far.  A friend gave me a humidor as a best man present to jump start me.  He is more knowledgeable than I, but doesn't have an answer for every question I have.  He's referred me to Cigar.com a few times for the videos and deals and such, so I figured I'd turn to you knowledgeable gents (and ladies?).

1.  Should I take the plastic wrapper off the cigars when I place them in the humidor?
2.  How do I know if my hydrometer is accurate?
3.  I'm going to be moving in a few weeks, and moving the cigars in the humidor isn't a very realistic option because the black disc humidifier that came with the humidor just doesn't cut it so I use a soup bowl full of water.  What is the best way to transport cigars?
    3a.  I didn't know what I was doing when I set this thing up, just threw in the disc with water and the cigars, later finding out the disc wasn't doing the job.  Had I wiped the walls down first, would the black disc be sufficient?

That's all for now.  Any help is appreciated.

Comments

• 1. Personal preference. With the wrappers on, your sticks are better protected if any of them get beetles, and the wrappers are less likely to get cracked or torn. I take all mine off, but that's just me.

2. If you have an analog hygrometer, get a magic 8 ball. Wal*Mart sells digital hygrometers for about $7 that work great.

3. It depends on how far you're moving. If you just put them in a Zip Lock bag, they'll be good for a few days.

3a. Possibly. The stock foam humidifiers ain't always that great. The way I seasoned my humidor was just by using a small dish filled with distilled water until the humidity stabilized, then I put my sticks in. I didn't get a very good result with just wiping down the walls.

I'm still a newbie when it comes to all things cigars, but I'm sure some of the more knowledgable members here can help you even further.
  • rusiriusrusirius Posts: 565 ✭✭