Home General Discussion

tar from a cigar?

i was smoking an af hemingway the other night that i had been saving for a while and the stick started oozing this tar. and boy did it taste GROSS when it got on my tounge. i've been smoking for a couple of years and this is the first time ive ever had this happen. any idea why?Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone Appi was smoking an af hemingway the other night that i had been saving for a while and the stick started oozing this tar. and boy did it taste GROSS when it got on my toungeUploaded from the Photobucket iPhone AppUploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Comments

• jlmartajlmarta Posts: 7,881 ✭✭✭✭✭
    My guess is that you were smoking too fast. Try slowing your pace a bit.
  • jj20030jj20030 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭✭✭
    had that happen once with a GH 2002 vintage and yea its nassy, some say clip a little more off when it starts doing that
  • chemforeverchemforever Posts: 1,200
    This is why I am always conservative when I cut the cap, all you have to do is cut more off if tar comes up ( I use scissors). If there is too much saliva blocking a good draw after a while cutting more off the cap also solves that issue.
  • rwheelwrightrwheelwright Posts: 3,296
    As much as I love Fuente I have had this happen mostly on Fuente sticks. I have had it on others but not as much. Usually it is because of a few problems. The cigar is too moist, you are smoking too fast, the cut is too small. I mostly get this when I use a punch or a really small cut. If you cut it again you should resolve the problem.
  • jj20030jj20030 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭✭✭
    if its a little tight etc, sometimes ill use a toothpick to drive a few holes in it to open it up some
  • Ken_LightKen_Light Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭