Home Cigar 101

Verboten?

Hi all, I am pretty new to smoking real cigars (my grandpa got me started years ago, and he always got dutch masters), and I have ordered a few things from c.com. I just wanted to see if I am committing some heinous crime with what I'm doing. I got the box of brocatus robusto's with the idea of handing them out to moochers, but of course I tried one - i did not care for it at all - bitter, bland, and flat. I knew they were a little dry, and so I tried an emergency solution: i dipped the foot most of the way to the band in some cheap whisky and then let them sit in their open celo wrappers for 2 days. It made a world of difference! They became smooth, rich, and very slightly sweet. I have looked, but can't find anyone else trying this. Did I just get them re-hydrated?

Comments

• allsmokedupallsmokedup Posts: 751 ✭✭
    Well, if they're bitter then the RH % must have been a little higher. Did you leave it outside in the cello, or in the humidor ? I heard how Winston Churchill used to do that, but never thought of trying it until now...
  • RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭✭✭
    My worry would be that you may get them too wet causing them to split. I've read you can infuse cigars by placing them in a tupperware dish with a shot glass of your favorite whiskey and letting them sit till the glass is empty.
  • slushoslusho Posts: 2
    I had not gotten my humi yet (I'm *very* new) and I had people coming over. I left them on my dresser in the cello wrap w/ the end open so it could shed excess moisture. The dunk was also very brief, just long enough to stick it in and pull it out of the jar.
  • Roberto99Roberto99 Posts: 1,077
    I tried something similar to that many years ago and it didn't turn out well. I would be suprised if you will be able to do this on a regular basis with continued success.
  • JSaintJSaint Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭
    Rhamlin: