Home General Discussion
Options

Good gosh, how do you decide which cigar??

Now that my humidor is looking ever so good with wonderful cigars in it, I'm wondering how in the heck am I going to decide which cigar to smoke with so many great ones to choose from? And being a noob, I don't know enough about many of them to know which one to try. What do I do, just reach in and grab one?? lol!! So, tell me how it's done. Oh, what a wonderful problem to have!!!!!! lol!!!!

Comments

• Options
    MarkerMarker Posts: 2,524
    Just smoke them. Take notes. Keep the notes. Keep the bands of ones you like in a certain box. Keep the bands of the ones you did not like in another box. You are still in a major trial and error phase of cigars. So keep trying them. Your palate is the only thing that can decide.
  • Options
    jlmartajlmarta Posts: 7,881 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Marker:
    Just smoke them. Take notes. Keep the notes. Keep the bands of ones you like in a certain box. Keep the bands of the ones you did not like in another box. You are still in a major trial and error phase of cigars. So keep trying them. Your palate is the only thing that can decide.

Marker's advice is good. And I'll add the comment that if you have an iPhone, Salem, there's an app that lets you keep track of just about anything you might want to keep track of. Otherwise you could start a spreadsheet on your PC to do the record-keeping. I find something is necessary because there's no way I can remember everything.
  • Options
    RCY_CigarsRCY_Cigars Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭
    jlmarta:
    Marker:

Marker's advice is good. And I'll add the comment that if you have an iPhone, Salem, there's an app that lets you keep track of just about anything you might want to keep track of. Otherwise you could start a spreadsheet on your PC to do the record-keeping. I find something is necessary because there's no way I can remember everything.