Home Cigar 101
Options

Question about Ageing

I am brand new to this, just got a humidor and seem to actually have the temperature and humidity under control. Everything I read says most good cigars taste better with aging, which I usually see around 2 years for the best experience. I want to try different cigars obviously since I am starting out, but what do I smoke while the ones I am getting start aging? Are there pre-aged cigars for sale?! Be gentle on me haha!

Comments

• Options
    SaVasSaVas Posts: 250
    First off welcome. Secondly, aging cigars is to me, a matter of perspective depending on what type of cigar you like to smoke, as well as the wrapper, binder, and filler. I find some cigars age better than others, such as CAO Sopranos. Out of the box it is a good cigar. After six months, even better. Two years, quite good, and after five or more years, deliciously complex. Then there are cigars like Opus X which initially within the first year I find better than aging them, until the five or more years when the cigar seems to hit its stride. For some reason the second year on they fall flat until that five year and longer mark. It's still a great cigar, but with patience, comes smoking pleasure. If your humidor is big enough, I would recommend buying ten or more of a cigar you like that have not aged other than the point it reaches your door, and try them every couple of months. If you find cigars that seem to be, in your palate's opinion, aging well, get a second humidor, and get more of the cigar to stash away. Warning though...you might wind up with several humidors, and/or several coolers of cigars.
  • Options
    j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    Welcome aboard. What I'd recommend is that you just smoke cigars, try them out and narrow down your likes and dislikes. Spend a couple years focusing your tastes. At that point you should take aging into consideration.