Home General Discussion
Options

Am I doing something wrong

I bought a larger humidor holds about 50 cigars I also purchased the boveda seasoning pack 84% and the boveda humidification 69% I seasoned for the 10 days put my cigars in left them for about a week and they are spongy and very oily when I take then out the cellophane also some smoke well and some don't please help

Comments

• Options
    TridentTrident Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭✭
    First off, what type of hygrometer are you using? If it is not a digital one, I would recommend calling Andy and ordering one. If so, what was its reading during the seasoning of the humidor, and also after? Also, did you calibrate said hygrometer?
  • Options
    ToombesToombes Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭
    I'm no expert, but it sounds like your humidity level is too high. Not to sound like an aZZ, but you did take the seasoning pack out before putting the humidification bags in, right?
  • Options
    oldsoulrevivaloldsoulrevival Posts: 632 ✭✭
    What was your hygrometer reading when you opened up the humi and noticed things were strange?
  • Options
    Trident:
    First off, what type of hygrometer are you using? If it is not a digital one, I would recommend calling Andy and ordering one. If so, what was its reading during the seasoning of the humidor, and also after? Also, did you calibrate said hygrometer?

True, if you have the crappy little dial hygro that came with the humi then I would suggest using it to shoot as a skeet target. Order a good digital from c.com and reap the benefits of accurate humidification. Secondly, as mentioned by oldsoul, what was the reading when you popped your lid?
  • Options
    kingdavid5kingdavid5 Posts: 293
    No I didnt put both of the packs in at the same time and I don't have a hygrometer I'm new to the humidor game but that was on my list to order one should I keep the 69% or is that not right
  • Options
    ShotgunJohnShotgunJohn Posts: 1,545 ✭✭
    kingdavid5: