Home General Discussion
Options

Cut preference?

mmccartneydcmmccartneydc Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭
Still being a newbie, I'm playing with different cuts....really just guillotine vs V-cut, but I was curious if it is totally up to preference or if there are some sticks that you should always cut one way or another. Also, Ive never tried a punch, and I saw a cutter that puts slices in to perferate the cap, don't know anything about those at all. Thanks for any info!

Comments

• Options
    0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I prefer the guillotine. A nice slice on the end cap. I have a xikar I really like.
    I tried the one that puts the slices. The cigar shop here had one. I guess it takes some getting used to, but I didn't care for it myself.
    I don't mind v-cuts.

I've gotten away from punches, mostly because they are often smaller than I care for and I end up using them to open a bit more than the punch will do in one cut.

It's definitely a preference thing. About all I can tell you is to try each one and see what works best for you.
    In Fumo Pax
    Money can't buy happiness, but it can buy cigars and that's close enough.

Wylaff said:
    Atmospheric pressure and crap.
  • Options
    0patience:
    I prefer the guillotine. A nice slice on the end cap. I have a xikar I really like.
    I tried the one that puts the slices. The cigar shop here had one. I guess it takes some getting used to, but I didn't care for it myself.
    I don't mind v-cuts.

I've gotten away from punches, mostly because they are often smaller than I care for and I end up using them to open a bit more than the punch will do in one cut.

It's definitely a preference thing. About all I can tell you is to try each one and see what works best for you.
    Thanks for the info 0patience. Yes, that is something that I will have to invest in, all I have is the cheapy guillotine cutter at the moment.
  • Options
    Ken_LightKen_Light Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭