Home Cigar 101
Options

First Humidor - A Good Deal?

MAJORdorMoMAJORdorMo Posts: 356
I'm fairly new to cigars (been smoking for about a month), but I already know that I love these things! I also know that to keep this love, I will need a humidor.
I was doing some searching, and I came across this:
http://www.cubancrafters.com/products.php/item_id/331
Seems like a good deal, but I have a few questions:
1. Is Cuban Crafters a reputable company?
2. Are the cigars decent, or will I be throwing them out?
3. Are analog hygrometers alright to use, or will I have to invest in a digital?

I may think of more questions later, but that's what I have now.

Comments

• Options
    j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    1: Yeah, they have a good reputation. I've dealt with them, for cigars not a humidor, and they have good service.
    2: The cigars are probably decent, though I doubt much more than that. They do offer some good cigars, but I don't think these will be the tops. Might surprise you though.
    3: Yeah, get a digital. Analog hygrometers are little more than paper weights that measure humidity, and they are probably better suited to holding down papers.
  • Options
    smbrinksmbrink Posts: 406
    Looks like a good humi, Ummm I would never throw out any sticks just because you never know when youll have friends over, or maybe they will be better with some age, or stuff like that. As for the hygrometer everyone here will tell you to get a digital one because they really are that much more accurate. When I switched I found out my analog was off by like 10%. I will also suggest getting some beads or the gel over keeping the foam puck. If you have any more questions dont hesitate to ask or dredge up some posts. Theres some really great knowledge, tips, and tricks here at the ccom forums. Welcome and glad to have you with us!!!
  • Options
    kaspera79kaspera79 Posts: 7,257 ✭✭✭
    MAJORdorMo: