Home General Discussion
Options

Constructing a Walk in Humidor

I am thinking about putting together a walk in humidor in a spare bedroom. One question, do I NEED to line the entire room with Spanish cedar. Could I just use spanish cedar trays and that is it?

Comments

• Options
    PuroFreakPuroFreak Posts: 4,131 ✭✭
    The only advice I have would be to hire me to sit in the humi and be the guard of your smokes and monitor your humidity levels. The only way for me to properly ensure your smokes are at their peak quality is for me to smoke several a day but I'm up for the job and I know I can keep your humidor in top notch shape! hehe
  • Options
    bbc020bbc020 Posts: 1,422
    line the whole room with Spanish Cedar? No, I'm no expert, but I doubt that is necessary. I would be more worried about temp, mainly because bedrooms usually have at least one exterior wall. Another thing is sealing the room off to the best of your ability. Lastly, the issue that I would be most concerned about is lingering odor or fungi. Seems like that could have to most detrimental effect on one's smokes.

I can't say I haven't thought of doing something like this, and these were the worries/concerns I had when I thought about it. I could be over (or under) thinking this, but take it for what it is...my opinion.
  • Options
    The room is in the basement. The normal temp and humidity with no other help in the room is 67 degrees and 54% RH. The basement is hardly ever used. I figure I could put a humidifier in it and some shelving and place the cigars in the trays.
  • Options
    bbc020bbc020 Posts: 1,422
    Sounds ideal
  • Options
    tankbonniestankbonnies Posts: 191
    make sure you post pictures
  • Options
    phobicsquirrelphobicsquirrel Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭
    Capt would be the best to ask this, I haven't seen him on in a long time though.
  • Options
    I am researching shelving. I do not want anything that is attached to the walls. Any suggestions?
  • Options