Home Non Cigar Related
Options

laptops

bigharpoonbigharpoon Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭
Hey everyone, I'm in need of a new laptop which I have about two days to buy before the crunch is really gonna suck. I'm no techie geek that needs tons of bells and whistles; I mostly use the internet and manage photos. What is the best laptop for the money, less expensive the better. Thanks for any input stuff like this is way out of my league.

Comments

• Options
    0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I bought a Toshiba from Best Buys for $399. Haven't had a problem with it. It replaced a piece of junk Acer, that I had to send in twice and then the mother board failed completely. So I would stay away from Acer.

I do website work on mine and it handles everything I need, plus some gaming.
    In Fumo Pax
    Money can't buy happiness, but it can buy cigars and that's close enough.

Wylaff said:
    Atmospheric pressure and crap.
  • Options
    StreaterStreater Posts: 293
    Figure out how much $$ you are willing to spend and call Dell or HP. I have had many machines and if I was not buying a Mac, it would be either HP or Dell. ALL computers break. You want a manufacturer that has good customer service. I have found that HP and Dell are the easiest to deal with for warranty management. Don't get the extended warranty. The OEM warranty should be 3 years. Good luck.
  • Options
    marineatbn03marineatbn03 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭
    +1 on the toshiba, I have had mine for 4 years and it still runs like a champ. And the toshiba service is good as well.
  • Options
    stephen_hannibalstephen_hannibal Posts: 4,317
    The computer I had that lasted the longest and stood up to abuse was my MacBook Pro (RIP)
    After years of abuse it finally gave out. I happened to stumble on a great deal with HP and I have to say I've been impressed.

So that's one more for HP.

• Options
    LukoLuko Posts: 2,003 ✭✭