Home Non Cigar Related
Options

Any college professors out there?

Hello to all my brothers and sisters of the leaf! I'm contemplating/will be going to graduate school to get my Masters in Landscape Architecture with the plan of going on to teach at the university level. I wanted to see if there were any professors/teachers on the forums that could give me any wisdom and share their advice. What's it like to teach at a higher level?

Comments

• Options
    beatnicbeatnic Posts: 4,133
    Yes. Go to graduate school. A big leg up in today's world. Then decide. If you want to teach, get a PhD. You may see new opportunities emerging and decide to enter the private sector. Don't look too far ahead. Good luck.
  • Options
    Roberto99Roberto99 Posts: 1,077
    I was an assistant professor for 8 years and let it go. There is certainly a sense of satisfaction but the pay is usually not as good in that environment as it is going out into your profession. Sometimes that satisfaction can be worth the difference.
  • Options
    Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Teaching at the college level seems like it could be very cool, no experience but I'm looking at getting a Ph.d as well. Just go for it, and try to get in on a teaching assistant position as you work on your degree. I can't imagine a better opportunity to see how you like it AND pay for school. Win,win
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • Options
    BombayBombay Posts: 1,207
    Also have a graduate degree, earned last spring in public policy, If you are sure you want to teach at the university level a graduate degree may not be what you are after, and may need to just go for your PHD. I will say a lot of PHD programs now combine the masters and phd together, so you earn your masters while earning your phd if that makes sense. to me that would be the way to do it as it usually doesn't take any more time to earn both as it does just to earn your phd.
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭