Home Cigar 101
Options

Gurkha Micro-Batch

Alex WilliamsAlex Williams Posts: 1,515
Has anyone tried these? I was thinking about buying some because of the reknown Gurkha name and the low price. I couldn't decide between that or the oliva serie o maduro (I know they are very different but I LOVE maduro cigars). Is it abnormal to gravitate towards darker cigars so early in my cigar smoking experience? Thanks for the input.

Comments

• Options
    HugemooseHugemoose Posts: 458
    I have no experience with those, but I am really enjoying my Oliva G Maduro. I had both the G and the O in the natural wrapper and I preferred the G. The O, I felt lost a lot of its flavor in the last third.

Go to your local shop and just pick up one G Maduro.....you'll like it.
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    gurkha has become very hit or miss. if you go with the "classic" gurkha blends (regent, centurian, legend, beast, beauty, titan) you wont be led astray. once you get out there with the newer blends (blue steel, black dragon, micro batch, master select) its a real crap shoot.

i feel they are going the way of rocky patel.
    ...as in, the money and brand recognition is more important than the blend and the tobacco itself.

the gurkha brand took a lot of time building up their reputation of being a boutique brand. they did a few blends that were always around (yet still expensive) and then a few blends that were one time runs. then something happened (in the last 2 or so years). Instead of doing a few blends and doing them well, they are doing as many blends as they can to appeal to as many people as they can. More money. more brand recognition. this often translates to lower quality- not so much in the construction but in the flavor profile. For example, the master select is described on gurkhas website as: