Home Non Cigar Related
Options

Medicare and Doctors

jadeltjadelt Posts: 763 ✭✭
I dont know who on here is old enough.... I am getting close but not there yet so my question is for you more mature folks.......

My mother in law is 84 and lives outside of Houston and she is finding it harder and harder to find any doctor there locally that will accept Medicare. I was wondering if this is just a local thing or happens a lot. The doctor she found seems to send her for lots and lots of tests that to me dont seem to be related to her issues but then I am not a doctor so I wouldnt know for sure.

Anyone else finding doctors who dont take Medicare patients?

Comments

• Options
    mmccartneydcmmccartneydc Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭
    Well, I accept Medicare, but with the proposed cuts, I will be forced to re-evaluate that. The proposed cuts are anywhere from 15-25% across the board. So essentially, the government is asking health care professionals to do the same job and give the same quality of care for 15-25% less than last year. It is not feasible. We had to quit taking Medicaid in my office bc the reimbursment was so low, we could not afford to cover overhead when seeing those patients. It is not a matter of wanting to help people. I would not have gone into this business and left a much higher paying job to go back to school. If I can't afford to keep my doors open and can't pay my power bill from the reimbursement, then it is time to quit taking that plan in my opinion.