Martel's Marvelous Musings on Magnificent Miasmas of Merit

Comments

• Options
    BigshizzaBigshizza Posts: 15,645 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Howdy Spanky!
  • Options
    Rockethead26Rockethead26 Posts: 296 ✭✭✭✭
    Martel,

I'm fairly new to cigars and to cigar.com as well, but I must say that I like your style of writing. I read the first 3 pages of this thread then skipped to the end to see if you were still around. Glad to see that you are! I'll go back and finish this thread over the coming week. I'll add a couple of your likes to my list.

Thanks for taking the time to do what you do!
    Life is good, don't waste it.
  • Options
    MartelMartel Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭✭
    Perdomo 20th Anniversary Sun Grown Corona Grande

See my first review and take out all the negatives.  This cigar captured all that is good with the Lot 23 but without the crazy nic kick I always get with that blend.  This was smooth yet still had some flavor and strength.  I paired it with a Great Lakes Dortmunder Lager which might have taken away some of the nuance, so I won't go into all the flavors.  It was good; I'll leave it at that.

Avo Heritage Lancero

Great aroma of Kelner musk on this stick.  I bought a box back last September, and this is only the second one I've smoked, the other being ROTT.  Flavors were fantastic, but construction, as I've had happen with other skinny cigars, resulted in a tight draw and some resultant burn problems in the second half.  Touch ups didn't help much as the burn went wonky.  Puffing harder/faster resulted in ruining the flavors, which were really good otherwise.  The first half would get a high score; second half gets a frustrated low score because it could have been good.

Shameless Plug

If you're in the Denver/Boulder area, an old buddy of mine is the new owner of Barlow's in Lafayette.  His name is Benny, and all Benny and the Jets jokes are welcome and appreciated.  Great, caring guy.