Home General Discussion
Options

salt test

so I was salt testing my new hygro today and realized again how much I hate the salt test. It's so subjective. All of the instructions say to put some salt and a few drops of water, but not too much. Why can't they be more specific. For example, 1/2 teaspoon salt with 5 drops of water...Damp salt is such a relative term, so I can't tell if I have enough water per salt...I know this is a Sienfeld thing to comment on, but it really annoys me! /end rant...

Comments

• Options
    MAJORdorMoMAJORdorMo Posts: 356
    I SHARE YOUR PAIN MAN!
    Hell, even drops is a tad too nonspecific for me. I'd love for someone to say "1 tablespoon for a quarter cup of salt" or something. I'd use a lot of salt, but at least I'd be sure the ratio was right.
  • Options
    clearlysuspectclearlysuspect Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭✭

I'm new to this whole thing, so thanks for bringing up a topic for me to research.  I didn't know most hydrometers were that far off.

Here's what I found:

http://www.cigarsinternational.com/html/cig101_12st.asp

• Options
    nsezellnsezell Posts: 294
    see, that's still really vague...damp salt, but not sloppy doesn't tell me how much to put in!
  • Options
    clearlysuspectclearlysuspect Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭✭
    I would think just enough to where the salt absorbs the water and there is no standing water. Think Paste.
  • Options
    xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    Like clearlysuspect said - just no standing water. Ever been to the beach and walked along the surf? Just like the sand if you pick up a handful - it's wet but you don't see any water if you swirl it around; just wet, damp salt
  • Options
    LasabarLasabar Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭
    I can agree the salt test is somewhat a trial and error, but just what they said: