Home Cigar 101

A little direction for a beginner

Hi I am a bit new to cigars smoking and I am looking for a little bit of advice on my purchase.  I am in the market to purchase a humidor and cigars today but I am on a budget.  I have narrowed my choices down to these.

Gurkha Super-Premium Humidor Sampler III + Humidor

Deluxe humidor combo

and

Deluxe humidor
with
5 Vegas collected works II

Right now I am leaning more towards the deluxe humidor with the 5 Vegas cigars mostly because of price ($40 seems like a great price for a humidor and 15 cigars).

My questions are
1. I have read that this is a nice beginners humidor, does anyone have any personal experience with it?

2. Cigar wise I am looking for a nice assortment of "flavors" since I don't really know what I like.  Will the Vegas pack provide this experience to me?  Will one of the other combo packs do this better?

3. I am a scotch drinker, does anyone know of where I can read about paring cigars with scotch?

I have many more questions but I am a person that learns by doing so I think that this should gt me started.

Thank you for any and all help,
Ron

Comments

• RainRain Posts: 8,958 ✭✭✭
    You'd be lucky to fit those sticks in the humi you get. Check out Cigar 101 (which I will bump.) http://www.cigar.com/cs/forums/thread/379773.aspx
  • That is a lot of info!  This answers a lot of my questions and it should keep me busy for awhile.  I appreciate the quick reply. 

Thanks
    Ron
  • Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Ron,

I have not used that humidor, but you will likely enjoy the 5 Vegas sticks. My favorite lines, the A and Miami are not included in that particular sampler, but I have not had 5V that was bad.
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Ron Guinness: