Home General Discussion
Options

Fell in to the vortex...

I'm a newbie here and also a newbie to cigar smoking in general.....  I am a hobbyist woodworker and have built a few humidors for my friends and family.... plus tons of jewelry boxes and keepsake boxes.

A while back, I visited nearly all the cigar lounges in the Atlanta area just to see what was involved with humidors as I had a request to build one..... or two.  It was during this research time that I fell in to the vortex....

Good stuff!

I'm working on my fifth humidor now and having a lot of fun!

Nothing better than the scent of spanish cedar permeating the woodshop!

Here's my favorite one..... but, the one on the bench is starting to look better.... imageimage

Comments

• Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    fantastic.

stick around this forum for a while. humidor construction knowledge is a valuable asset to the forum.

• Options
    LasabarLasabar Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭
    /Jaw drops...

With Cabi here and now waxi on here.... I'm gonna go build a humidor too!!!

Or how about I just buy a bunch of spanish cedar and glue it together in one shltty block, cut it in half and throw it in the garbage...

it'll save me some time
  • Options
    WaxingMoonWaxingMoon Posts: 328
    lol..... Here's the next one coming off the bench soon..... Should be done by the weekend. Then it's off to a my favorite shop to sit in the window for a while.... 0.8 cubic feet of real estate inside.... 20x12.5x8.75 High on the outside... imageimage Here's a sketch up of the trayworks...... that's what I'm working on now. The main portion of the box is drying out after being saturated and buffed out with teak oil. Should be ready for the lacquer tomorrow. image
  • Options
    cabinetmakercabinetmaker Posts: 2,560 ✭✭
    Very nice work!
  • Options
    Thank you, Sir! With a handle like Cabinetmaker, I would presume that you make some dust every now and again as well.....
  • Options