Home Non Cigar Related
Options

Got a job in my field!

No, I'm not talking about farming, lol.

I graduated top of my class from a 3 year college course just days after turning 50. The only work I found in my home town was a 3 month contract at barely more than minimum wage. Last week I got a phone call about an interview I did out of town, and they offered me the job! I start on August 26 as an IT Programmer Analyst which is exactly what I went to school for.

Unfortunately it means I have to move. I hate the idea of selling my house, but it's really too far to commute. The kids are grown up and moved out and my wife was looking for a new job anyway, so the timing could not be better.

Best of luck to all those who are job seeking and don't ever give up.

Comments

• Options
    LiquidChaos66LiquidChaos66 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭✭
    Congrats! It's a hard market out there and it makes me happy to hear people getting hired. :) best of luck with the move and the new job! Knock'em dead!
    Life is like a blind fiver. You never know what you're gonna get.
  • Options
    perkinkeperkinke Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭
    Congrats man! Great to see your investment in time, energy, and money is paying off for ya.
  • Options
    reggie713reggie713 Posts: 2,517 ✭✭✭✭
    congrats!!
  • Options
    phobicsquirrelphobicsquirrel Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭
    cool man, good luck selling your house and moving and all of that. sort of a fast start date to do all of that.
  • Options
    stephen_hannibalstephen_hannibal Posts: 4,317
    Congratulations man.

• Options
    roland_7707roland_7707 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭
    Congrats brother.
    One God, One Truth
  • Options
    Ken_LightKen_Light Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭
    Sounds like everything's aligning itself nicely. Hopefully it's not too far out of town and you can commute a bit and not rush like hell to move. Three weeks is pretty insane.
    ^Troll: DO NOT FEED.
  • Options
    jlmartajlmarta Posts: 7,881 ✭✭✭✭✭