Home Cigar 101
Options

Cigar Tasting

thehilkthehilk Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭
Ok, please go easy cause I am new to cigar smoking. At the recommendation of a fellow brother I starting following cigar manufacturers on twitter. I saw something I never heard of before called a cigar tasting. now I would just assume and I could be wrong they just would give out a free stick to everyone and that is the tasting would they? then I started imagining that they cut a stick into pieces and that's how you would do it, but then I thought that may effect the taste. I am sure I am over thinking it, but please fill me in. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    thehilk:
    Ok, please go easy cause I am new to cigar smoking. At the recommendation of a fellow brother I starting following cigar manufacturers on twitter. I saw something I never heard of before called a cigar tasting. now I would just assume and I could be wrong they just would give out a free stick to everyone and that is the tasting would they? then I started imagining that they cut a stick into pieces and that's how you would do it, but then I thought that may effect the taste. I am sure I am over thinking it, but please fill me in. Thanks.
    Yup! Depending on the event and company there may be freebies and really good deals on boxes or samplers.
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • Options
    Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,016 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I think in most cases when the term cigar tasting is used they (Manufacturer reps) are just holding an event for their brand and there may be some freebies handed out. I've heard of some tasting classes offered where you learn about different aspects of the different flavor profiles but I would think those classes are few and far between.
  • Options
    webmostwebmost Posts: 7,713 ✭✭✭✭✭