Home Cigar 101
Options

Moldy balls?

Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,016 ✭✭✭✭✭
I've got several of the clear pucks that ccom sells - (Round Crystal Humidifier – Clear)

http://www.cigar.com/cigars/viewcigar.asp?prod=M-HUM45

They contain clear gel balls that swell up when you add distilled water. I have noticed that the gel balls in one of them has turned a darker color. Kind of a gray or charcoal tint. There are no obvious fuzzy or dark spots or pieces in the puck other than the gel balls. There's just the darker tint to the gel balls.

You think this is mold?

Anybody had these gel balls just simply turn gray on you?

I've had no direct experience with mold and wondered if I should just toss this one puck just to be safe.

Comments

• Options
    LiquidChaos66LiquidChaos66 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭✭
    I'm remembering from a prior thread that they have been known to discolor. Not resulting from mold but maybe a chemical imbalance that changes them.
    Life is like a blind fiver. You never know what you're gonna get.
  • Options
    They're all uniform in color. Every one of those little balls is the same tint of gray.

Can you locate that thread? I did a quick search earlier but came up empty.
  • Options
    I was trying to find it myself. But my phone is being a little ****. Lol it's been within the last 2 months though.
  • Options
    Any keywords you remember from the subject line of the original post?
  • Options
    "Mold on beads" I didn't re read the thread. But from the snippet I read I'm pretty sure it's the one.
  • Options
    Ken_LightKen_Light Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭
    ^Troll: DO NOT FEED.
  • Options
    jadeltjadelt Posts: 763 ✭✭
    I have had the round balls (the clear or blue ones that swell up) and the clear crystals (that swell up) will get black mold on them. Mine were definite black spots not uniform color. I stopped using them and now just use heartfelt beads and KL.
  • Options