Home Cigar 101
Options

Humidor Humidity issues

Hello, I am somewhat new to cigars. i have been smoking them off and on for a few years., But just last year i got a 50 count humidor and have been using it since. However, if i leave the cigars in my humidor long enough they become too dry.

I have seasoned it. I have calibrated the hygrometer. All of the above. ( i use only distilled water.

I notice that i have to recharge humidifier every day. and it will go from about 65 to 72 through out the day. WHY cant i get it to stay at 72??? or even 70?

This has been an issue for a while and have stopped purchasing cigars because of it. Thanks in advance. :)

Comments

• Options
    macs-smokesmacs-smokes Posts: 587
    Welcome to the forum. The first thing you will be asked is if you are using the green foam crap. Ditch it and switch to kitty litter or 100% silica. Heartfelt beads are same stuff. Catfishbluzz wrote it and its in cigar 101.
  • Options
    Yes i was using the green foam crap the whole time. i have a crystal humidifier. should i use that instead? Is that the only problem?
  • Options
    KingoftheCoveKingoftheCove Posts: 937 ✭✭✭
    dinugs:
    Yes i was using the green foam crap the whole time. i have a crystal humidifier. should i use that instead? Is that the only problem?
    Can't speculate as to if that's your only problem.
    If you're happy with your 50ct humi, and a part-time occasional cigar smoker.......then buy this and be done with your problem:

(oops.....competitor reference)..................buy a tube of beads from Heartfelt....do the math for what size you need, and get one bigger

It's probably more than enough for your 50ct......but with beads.....more is better.

If, on the other hand, you find yourself getting into the hobby more, then buy a cooler now, read a few threads and learn about silica, storage, and humidification and more on this web site...............have a cigar!

• Options
    Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,019 ✭✭✭✭✭