Home General Discussion

In general

Do you like cigars in general? I do.

I ask because at various discussion forums, I read a lot of comments about cigars that folks find "disgusting", 'awful", "trash" and advise that no one smoke any cigars made by manufacturers that produce dozens of brands..

And these are not comments about Repo Man, Raji's Untimely demise, Dark Shark etc., these are comments about national brands. Gurkha, Victor Sinclair, Macanudo and others - heck I read once that Henry Clay, my "go to" for 20 years, was the worst cigar someone ever smoked.

And prices. I've read and heard from various smokers that they can't finds any smokes under $3, 4 even $6 that they can enjoy.

Now I've been smoking cigars for 40 years, premium hand-made for 20 years and have been a "hobbyist" for more than 5.

I haven't smoked them all, but I smoke as many different brands as I can. i've paid from .10 to $30 for a cigar.

Got to tell you, I enjoy almost every single cigar I smoke. By that I mean like 99.9%. I've found none that disgust me, none that taste "like donkey's ass" ('tho I personally wouldn't be able to quantify that flavor), none that I toss an inch in because they are so awful.

No I haven't liked them all - a Mr. Hyde's Monstrous Flavors corona comes to mind, but that's a cigar I smoked a half-dozen years ago that I paid .20 for.

And I read guys don't like the smell of cigar smoke. Me, I like to go into a room where I can tell somebody has smoked cigars in the last couple of days. Some people won't smoke in the car for just this reason.

So is it a advantage to have such a discerning palate that you can only enjoy a realtively limited number of smokes? To not be able to enjoy a $1 cigar or heaven forbid a "mechanizido"? (Oh yeah, I smoke and enjoy a variety of machine-made smokes.)