Home Cigar 101

Did I completely F^%&%k myself up?

gripnripgripnrip Posts: 502 ✭✭✭
Let me start out by saying I am not new to cigars. I have been smoking regularly for about 7 years and been a forum member for close to 4 years. I have learned a lot here (many thanks), but I apparently have not learned to not be stupid.
Here is what happened: I have three humi's. Two fifty count-one for yard gars/golf/pass out to non-smoking friends, etc. and one for better sticks that I smoke regularly. I also have a 150 count where I store my special occasion cigars and sticks I want to age. I use Boveda packs exclusively and keep my humi's in our basement as the humidity down there is much more stable than in the upstairs house. Well, last night I went down to choose my stick for the evening. As usual, I checked the humidity in all the humi's and selected a cigar from 50 count #2. This morning I went down to grab some golf gars and DAMN-the lid was up on the 150 count (it couldn't have been the yard gar humi-NOOOO)! The analog hygrometer in the lid read 40% and the Xikar digital under the tray (in the "main" body of the humidor) read 58%. The lid was up approximately 14 hours. So....my question is....did I completely mess up my prized collection of upper end sticks, or over time will they be ok?

Comments

• CigaryCigary Posts: 630
    You're fine...if it was only open that long it will be easy to get the RH back to where it was within a day or so but I'd let your cigars marinate for a good week before I smoked one. Just because the hygro said the inside was at that percentage doesnt mean that all of your cigars were at the same...cigars hold on to their RH better than we understand and you could have left all of them on a table for 24 hours and they'd be fine.
  • Ken_LightKen_Light Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭
    Cigary: