Home General Discussion

CA Smokers Please Advise.....

I went to a local shop here in town to pick up a few sticks, and he did not have many that were on my list from CCOM. The one's he did have were twice as expensive, but that's another story.

I mentioned CCOM a few times while I was in the store, and the owner finally got around to asking my why I purchased online. I told him it was much cheaper and there was a wider selection. Now he tells me that in CA, people who buy from 'mail order' will be receiving a bill from the State for taxes due on all cigar purchases. He said the taxes can go as far back as 1998 !! I'm quite new to cigars so I can't tell if he's blowin' smoke up my @$$, or if this is for real. I have done some checking since I got back home, and I don't find mention of any CA only cigar tax. Is he just trying to scare me away from online purchases and buy from his shop, or is this true ?

Comments

• j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    Well technically you are required to report all out-of-state purchases and pay the applicable sales tax on them. I don't know that the state could necessarily track that and bill you for it though. I've been buying stuff on the internet from different states for years to avoid paying sales tax on it, I haven't gotten a bill yet. I think this guy is full of ****, and I wouldn't take what he says to heart.
  • MAJORdorMoMAJORdorMo Posts: 356
    I'm with j0z3r. This guy just wants you to stop ordering from CCOM and buy from him. The state has better things to do than to track all your purchases.
    Of course, with the news constantly telling us how far California is in debt, it doesn't seem THAT far off....
  • andrewhandrewh Posts: 97
    He's blowing smoke, go kick him in the balls.
  • HaysHays Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭