Home General Discussion
Options

Ethics question

I have a situation where ethics are in questions. Let me give you a little back story.

Allow me to give you some back-story.

There is a local smoking ordinance preventing smoking in just about any public building. I am also an Admin for a local Cigar group on Facebook. Many of the B&M shop owners are members and the group promotes supporting them. The problem I am having is there is a shop that is telling its customers that they are allowed to smoke at one of their locations because it is a “Warehouse” or “Private Office”, however if you read the ordinance it says plainly that this does not fit the exception and the customers themselves, the employee working, the owner of the business, and the owner of the building can all be fined if caught. I have participated in many of the events at this location with the assumption that the owners wouldn’t put me at risk of being fined, However, after finding out the truth I am to afraid to return (at least smoking, I still stop by time to time to purchase and leave). The last thing I want is a fine that starts at $50 per offence. Then there is also a local Cigar Society that is trying to do the same thing. Tell potential new member that they can buy into the “Members Only” club at $500 a year and have access to their clubhouse to smoke. Even though the ordinance even has in the wording that “Private Clubs” are included and can be shut down and each person caught getting a fine.

As an Admin I feel obligated to inform the other members that they are in danger of being fined even thou they are not aware of it. I don’t want to come off as a snitch, however if it was me I would want to know.

If you were in the same situation how would you handle it?

Comments

• Options
    Ken_LightKen_Light Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭