Home Cigar 101

I have a special request and I am new to cigars

My son is a smart, tough, and really cute Marine.  And yes he is single something I hope changes in the next couple of years.   He smokes cigars.  I want to buy him and my husband cigars that are so damn good it makes a Marine yell OORAH AND DAMN in the same breath.  I need some advice on how to go about this project.  There is no way for me to ask him without him becoming suspicious of my motives.  And rightly so. Expense is not an issue. I  want to present the cigars for a special occasion.  I have been reading posts and realize that taste is up to the smoker.   But is there a way to buy a drop dead wonderful cigar without knowing the particular taste of the smoker?

Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; mso-bidi-font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif";}

Comments

• bigharpoonbigharpoon Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum.

As you have gathered there is no simple solution to buying a drop dead wonderful cigar because everyone is different. Asking for cigar suggestions will eventually end up with the entire cigar portfolio being suggested, lol. The best course of action is to try and figure out what cigars the boys like, if at all possible. With that info we can give you much more precise suggestions.

Just shooting in the dark your best bet, I believe, will be to spend a little extra coin and go for some high quality cigars which hit a lot of palates. Some of these might be: Davidoff (many choices), Arturo Fuente Anejo and Fuente Don Carlos and AVO (many choices). These are commonly available online and at cigar shops.