Home General Discussion
Options

Humidor RH Level

Hello Guys, I am very new to this so bare with me. But I am trying to get my levels to above 70. I have 21 cigars in my humidor it's near the max it can hold. I didnt season it for a week the way I should have, what I did was the wipe down with distilled water and I have a crystal jar humidifier and a sponge and my levels wouldn't go above 55 so I put a shot glass of distilled water now my levels are at 70. My question is, is it ok to keep the cup in the humidor? If not, what can I do?

Comments

• Options
    RainRain Posts: 8,958 ✭✭✭
    Why are you trying to get above 70RH? It is ok to keep the cup in. General rule for me is high rh means open the lid for a bit and low rh means spray a sponge with distilled water and lay it inside on a paper towel.I don't like wiping, I think that it's much easier to damage the wood by over saturation. We have a thread in Cigar 101 on how to do it.
  • Options
    CigaryCigary Posts: 630
    RH levels in your humidor should be below 70% to keep beetles from hatching so this is why most will tell you that levels of 65% tends to be a very safe environment. As far as keeping distilled water in a cup is one way to help with RH averages but be careful so as not to over humidify ....you'd need to check it often to not let that happen.
  • Options
    aschwendt13aschwendt13 Posts: 31
    I have a small desktop humidor that always has a bottle cap full of watwr in it because its junk, and thats the only way i can keep the rh high enough. With that aaid, be very careful not to spill any water, you could damage the wood, or your stogies
  • Options
    Thank you guys so much, I really appreciate everyones help. Also I thought 75 was ideal, but now I know better.
  • Options
    jimmyv723jimmyv723 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭