Home Non Cigar Related
Options

The Force Awakens (No Spoilers)

CharlieHeisCharlieHeis Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭✭✭
I'm surprised there isn't a thread for this yet. C'mon nerds, no one has seen it yet? I'm a fan but not so much that I have to see it on the first night. I work in retail so I have been crazy busy but will be going with family members later this week. Most of what I've heard has been very positive. What did you think?

NO SPOILERS!!!!

Comments

• Options
    Usaf06Usaf06 Posts: 10,974 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I am a huge fan but have decided to wait a couple weeks till the rush dies down.
    "I drink a great deal. I sleep a little, and I smoke cigar after cigar. That is why I am in two-hundred-percent form."
    -- Winston Churchill

"LET'S GO FRANCIS"     Peter

• Options
    SleevePlzSleevePlz Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭✭
    My advice, don't wait. You can't avoid spoilers forever. And there are some big spoilers.

My review, it was very well done, however the plot lines are very similar to the original trilogy which may irk some people.
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • Options
    jarublajarubla Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2015
    I liked it. The first three turned me off to Star Wars. So very different from 4-6, and I let my love for the story go. I have a significant amount of faith (call it A New Hope, if you will) in the new direction they are going. Harrison Ford made the movie for me. He did a damn fine job, lightening the mood where needed, and in other places. 

I am am fascinated by theme/trope/leitmotif in storytelling. The Deus ex Machina type devices we have grown to expect in these films (the death star I and II, etc) is interesting, as are some other themes; the hero, the anti hero, the foil, and several others I won't mention due to spoilers.

Bottom line? I have hope again for the series and the direction it is headed. This new heroine is a straight up badass