Home Non Cigar Related

Restoring Cast Iron?

MikeToddMikeTodd Posts: 974 ✭✭✭✭✭
I have 3 pieces of Lodge cast iron that I cook with on a daily basis. These three are seasoned and I take very good care of them.
My mom recently brough up 2 pieces of cast iron from my grandmother's house in Florida. These pieces have rust and I have no experience with restoring them or know if they can be restored.
Any ideas?

Comments

• avengethisavengethis Posts: 5,686 ✭✭✭✭✭
    You can use a mild steel wool to remove the rust and get it down to bare cast. Then clean thoroughly with warm water and a mild dish detergent. After that season it up.
    Team O'Donnell FTW!

"I've got a great cigar collection - it's actually not a collection, because that would imply I wasn't going to smoke ever last one of 'em." - Ron White
  • MikeToddMikeTodd Posts: 974 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Thanks! Any idea from the pics I took if the one has to much pitting on the sides?
  • 0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    That is the beauty of cast iron, they can be cleaned up, oiled and ready to go again.
    Use some steel wool and clean up the rust.
    The flaky rust on the out side, might need wire brush, but be careful, don't get carried away.
    Then use soap and water and clean it real well. 

Now here is where there is a thousand different ways to season them, but folks use shortening, vegetable oil or lard to coat them. 
    Choose which ever one you want and coat it inside and out. 
    put it on a baking sheet, or tin foil in the oven upside down and bake it.
    About 300-325 deg F is probably good for 45 minutes to an hour.
    Let it cool and remove it. 

It should be fairly shiny inside. If it isn't, try coating and heating it again. 
    Some cast iron will soak up quite a bit of oil if it's really old and dry.

Others may have a better or different way, this is just the way I've grown up with.
    In Fumo Pax
    Money can't buy happiness, but it can buy cigars and that's close enough.