Home Cigar 101
Options

A little humidor help...newbie here

2»

Comments

• Options
    Lee.mcglynnLee.mcglynn Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭✭
    Yup four should do the trick! Now since its summer most likely they will be sucking up the moisture so you should be good for a while
    Money can't buy taste
  • Options
    dirtdudedirtdude Posts: 5,653 ✭✭✭✭✭
    keep an eye on it for a bit to make sure its stable.
    you are off to the races, might as well get a cooler going
    A little dirt never hurt
  • Options
    Khynes124Khynes124 Posts: 15
    Its been about 24 hours since calibrating and throwing my hygrometer and smokes back into the humi, and it looks like I'm pinned on 68%. I've been showing 68 since I went to bed last night and it hasn't changed. What do I do to try and go from 68-65%, or do I just leave it alone? The Boveda packs are 65% packs, so I wasn't sure what my options were at this point
  • Options
    0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2016
    Personally, I would be happy with what you have. Over time or several openings of the humi, it may drop a little, but if the room Rh is at 68%, then it probably won't move from that. If it's holding steady at 68%, then the cigars in there may be moist and bringing the Rh up. If so, not a lot you can do, except wait it out.

Had to edit because spellcheck isn't working.
    Post edited by 0patience on
    In Fumo Pax
    Money can't buy happiness, but it can buy cigars and that's close enough.

Wylaff said:
    Atmospheric pressure and crap.
  • Options
    WylaffWylaff Posts: 5,271 ✭✭✭✭✭
    When we talk about things stabilizing over time, we mean weeks, not days. Be patient. 
    "Cooking isn't about struggling; It's about pleasure. It's like sǝx, with a wider variety of sauces."

At any given time the urge to sing "In The Jungle" is just a whim away... A whim away... A whim away...
  • Options