Home General Discussion
Options

Feedback on cigar ashtray

I've recently been hooked on cigars for a while now, after working at the TPE trade show next to the drew estate booth,and I've been turning wood for a couple years now and decided to mix the two.
This is the first ashtray I made (including some in the works photos. White background is finished, all others are in the works)

This is cherry wood from a tree that feel in my neighbors yard that i cut, prepped, dried and turned into this cigar ashtray with three notches for cigars. The outside is sanded to 2000 grit with linseed oil then finished with about 15 thin coats of poly. The inside tray was sanded to 1200 grit then I use a method called "shou sugi ban" in which you burn the wood, brush, then apply linseed oil to finish, which results in a dark stain appearance anddue,  to the burning, an increased fire resilience. (however normally you only brush after burning but I sanded back up to 1200 grit before applying oil making it smooth to the touch and a much lighter color than get without sanding)The pennies in the center are bonded in place, just an idea I had to date the piece.

I was wondering if any of you might have some tips or suggestions for any changes i should make to the design. All feedback is welcomed and appreciated.

Thanks,
-Cecil

Best Answers

Answers

• Options
    onestrangeoneonestrangeone Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Looks like a winner!
  • Options
    coquinncoquinn Posts: 12
    Wylaff said:
    Welcome! That is a very pretty ashtray. How much time do you have into it?
    The picture of the cherry log being split was back in April, but I had the wood drying for almost a year before that. Turned the rough shape back in may and stored it in a brown paper bag with the shavings...Probably about an hour's time of actual work in that.