Home General Discussion

Small Sample(r) Size - Who deserves a second chance?

transplanttransplant Posts: 111 ✭✭✭
I've been smoking cigars for about 3 years and have considered myself an enthusiast for the past 2 years.  

Like many, I started with samplers.  First impressions are powerful.  

My first Gurkha was a Beauty and it was excellent.  Then I got some Beasts and they were terribly constructed.  I avoid Gurkhas.  I had a Graycliff G2 and went, "meh."  I avoid Graycliffs.  I've had mixed results with Patel (Connecticut, meh, but Edge Habano, nice), Torano (love their Bricks and Casa Toranos, but absolutely hated their Noventas) and Alec Bradley (Connecticut, blah, but Prensado very good).  I tend to avoid all 3 of these brands, except for the ones I've had success with.

Am I missing anything?  Thanks.
Kipling was a wise man.

Comments

• Sketch6995Sketch6995 Posts: 4,495 ✭✭✭✭✭
    There's a thread here somewhere about some lunatic just bought like 35 ghurkas too see how many exploded......I forget the lunatics name...... I think the title had something to do with good way to quit smoking cigars.
    If you look you should be able to find it fairly easy
    The higher.......the fewer.  ( Alexander Rozhenko)

What you can't forgive......you will become.
  • WylaffWylaff Posts: 5,270 ✭✭✭✭✭
    How would we know what you missed? I have no clue what your experience with samplers has been.
    "Cooking isn't about struggling; It's about pleasure. It's like sǝx, with a wider variety of sauces."

At any given time the urge to sing "In The Jungle" is just a whim away... A whim away... A whim away...
  • PatrickbrickPatrickbrick Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I will smoke anything once, if it has burn/construction issues I'll smoke another.  Many cigars that i have not tried i will not buy, but if i receve something new to me i will smoke it.  In my opinion you cant gudge a book by its cover or reputation.  One will know if they like/dislike them based on smoking it.