Home Cigar 101

How to keep up?

KidTexKidTex Posts: 91 ✭✭✭
I'm brand new to the cigar world.  I've read everything I can find, but the one thing i'm having trouble with is this.  How do you keep up with which cigars you've tried and liked?  Does everyone just go off of their memory or do you keep records?

Comments

• MarkwellMarkwell Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum @KidTex! Be sure to mozy over to the newbie welcoming thread.

I personally keep a record. I've found the bands make great note pads. I you're looking to make a more in depth report then you might consider buying a composition book. As Peter said, the more information you record the easier it will be for you to narrow down what you like.
    “Happiness? A good cigar, a good meal, a good cigar and a good woman – or a bad woman; it depends on how much happiness you can handle.” – George Burns
  • KidTexKidTex Posts: 91 ✭✭✭
    Haha! Memory isn't my best quality, that's why I asked.  My first cigar purchase was a pretty uneducated spur of the moment thing, with little research, though I am not unhappy with them.  I bought some JR Cuban Alternative Hoyo de Monterrey Epicure No. 2.  The problem is I bought 20 of them, so I don't have a lot of room for other stuff in my humidor I got to try out :(
  • genareddoggenareddog Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭✭✭
    KidTex said:
    Haha! Memory isn't my best quality, that's why I asked.  My first cigar purchase was a pretty uneducated spur of the moment thing, with little research, though I am not unhappy with them.  I bought some JR Cuban Alternative Hoyo de Monterrey Epicure No. 2.  The problem is I bought 20 of them, so I don't have a lot of room for other stuff in my humidor I got to try out :(
    Cooler time
  • YaksterYakster Posts: 25,529 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I created a spreadsheet in Google Sheets for my cigars and I note down the ones that I would buy again and the outstanding ones in it.
    I'll gladly bomb you Tuesday for an Opus today.