Home Cigar 101
Options

How do you "taste" your cigar?

SmokerPaulSmokerPaul Posts: 22 ✭✭
I've been thinking about this lately given that I've started smoking sticks regularly on the weekends and want to enjoy this hobby to the fullest.  I have watched multiple reviews of cigars, read them too and even vids on how you can ensure you're doing the right things to get the flavors out of cigar (notwithstanding someone having dull taste buds or maybe eating every meal with hot sauce) and I gather, much like the tastes one gets out of a cigar, that it's a bit different for everyone.  

I'm still pretty new to smoking cigars and enjoying them and I know I've got some bad habits (smoke too fast, smoke too slow, get it too hot, let it go out) which sour the smoke but there are some moments of enjoyment and flavor.  When it comes to flavor though, it'**** or miss and I'm trying to figure out what I should do to get the flavor?  Retrohaling helps sometimes but where I get the most identifiable flavors is when I inhale through my nose while I'm drawing on the cigar.  I'm not inhaling the smoke per se, even though some may get in through my nose.  Exhaling normally, licking my lips, etc does nothing to give me any identifiable flavor other than whiskey...all cigars leave a taste of whiskey in my mouth.  It's only when I inhale while drawing, or sometimes, breathing into my mount but exhaling through my nose that I get flavor.  I know your nose has a lot to do with the way things taste but it seems to me that some people literally taste flavors of the cigar on their tongue as if it were food they were eating.  For me, it's not that way, at least now in any case.