Home Cigar 101
Options

Tastes?

PotateerPotateer Posts: 3
Just to be clear, I'm a complete newbie who've just step my first foot into cigar. I have a question, I think it's probably somewhere in the forum but I haven't found it yet, but here goes. As I stroll my way through the website, I found that there are so many types of cigar (robusto, corona, toro, etc.) so, what should I expect when smoke any of those names. I did read the how to develop the palate but I want to know what kind of taste I should expect when smoke those name. Thank you in advance.
Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    IndustMechIndustMech Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum. A wealth of cigar information is here. 

What you've called "types" are actually sizes, length and ring (diameter) this will affect how long it takes to smoke the cigar. Strength, filler, and wrapper are important factors to consider.

I know, You're a big dog and I'm on the list.
    Let's eat, GrandMa.  /  Let's eat GrandMa.  --  Punctuation saves lives

It'll be fine once the swelling goes down.

• Options
    GaryThompsonGaryThompson Posts: 952 ✭✭✭✭✭
    ... and then some of these companies give those sizes their own friggin nicknames to further confuse us "new-to-the-leaf" types.

Or was i just reading reviewer's names and tripping..? 

Welcome!
  • Options
    edited December 2017
    Thanks for the replies, can you explain a little further into the size and how it affect the duration?

• Options
    dirtdudedirtdude Posts: 5,664 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum @Potateer, if you are wondering about flavor (Taste), a good deal of that come from the wrapper so if you run across something you like make note of the wrapper. 
    A little dirt never hurt
  • Options
    Bigger size=more tobacco=longer smoke. As i understand it. 
  • Options