Home Cigar 101
Options

I did a Seasoning/Humidor mistake. Can I resolve it?

7uiggi7uiggi Posts: 66 ✭✭✭
Hello Cigar fans! I'm new in this world and trying to understand how can I seasoned my first new humidor. 

Steps that I did: 

1. Wiped the inside of the humidor with a sponge anddistilled water and waited 3 days to fully dry. 
  2. (error) Applied the Xikar PG solution which appears in the photo directly to all the inside of the humidor with a sponge with no water and waited for 2 days to fully dry. 
  3. I bought the Boveda pack 69% and placed the cigars on the humidor. 

What I didn't know because I didn't read the instructions is that PG solution is for the Humidifier, not for the humidor. 

Do you think the humidor and cigars are trash right now or that PG solution is safe for the humidor and cigars? 

Sorry for my English is not good. 

Thanks in advance, 

:D:D:D  

Comments

• Options
    dirtdudedirtdude Posts: 5,664 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Brother I cant tell from the pictures if those are real Cohiba's,  maybe @miller65rod can but if there is any doubt I would take them and that Xicar humidifier and put them in an airtight baggie or tupperware until you get your humidor figured out
    A little dirt never hurt
  • Options
    0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Just clean it with a damp cloth and then let it air dry, then wipe it down again with a damp cloth and again, let it air dry. You may have to repeat as necessary.
    Do not get it too damp, you only want to clean the PG fluid. Not that it will hurt much, but it's best to let the wood naturally absorb moisture. 

Then once it is clean and it's air dried, then start the seasoning properly and away you go.

You're fine, just gonna take a little longer.

In Fumo Pax
    Money can't buy happiness, but it can buy cigars and that's close enough.

Wylaff said:
    Atmospheric pressure and crap.
  • Options
    Thank you for your suggestions. I'll do the process tomorrow at morning. Appreciate it!