Home General Discussion
Options

Cigar Brand Differences

hoghunterhoghunter Posts: 534 ✭✭✭✭✭

New cigar smoker, trying as many as I can, but there are simply too many to try. I’ve found in my “research” that some brands make you feel queasy while others (like Arturo Fuente) have given me nothing but positive experiences. Clearly AF sticks are more expensive and I know many times you pay for a name in the marketplace- but is there truth to the “you get what you pay for” mantra in the cigar world? What do the pricier brands do that the lower cost brands don’t? Again- I’m new to the game but so far for me it’s been hard to beat AF. Believe me- I’d love to find something cheaper that provides the same consistent performance but so far I have not. But to be fair- I’ve only tried about 0.00000001% of all cigar makers.

Comments

• Options
    deadmandeadman Posts: 8,804 ✭✭✭✭✭

Pm sent

• Options
    VegasFrankVegasFrank Posts: 16,706 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2020

Arturo fuente is a Dominican cigar, so I would try other Dominican cigars. La galera, avo, some room 101s, and David offs that go by another name (The Griffin, etc) are some options to try. There's also a crap load of legacy Cuban brands that are made in the Dominican republic, like cohiba, Romeo y Julietta, Monte, and some others. Those legacy brands don't get a lot of play on this forum full of boutique lovers, but they're all solid smokes.

Best thing about this industry is the diversity. Many people limit themselves to a single brand or a single line, but the fun for me is that I have 200 different lines in my humidor.