Home General Discussion
Options

Mo Cigars, Mo Problems??

Hello - I’m kinda of a newbie here so asking a simple question. Many of you have very large cigars collections that are going to take you multiple years to smoke. Is that because collecting cigars has become a hobby?

I don’t have much information and I might be completely wrong here so please correct me - I want to learn. It seems to be that storing cigars for a long time creates a lot of potential issues (Beatles, not enough humidity, too much humidity, etc.). Furthermore, from what little I’ve read, the benefits of aging are not clear and many as you don’t need to age cigars for more than a couple of months. In fact, if you are too long the cigar becomes worse. If the above is true, wouldn’t it make more sense to keep a smaller stock - maybe a few months or so?

As I said, I’m a newbie so please let me know if I’m just not getting it. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    ChitownChitown Posts: 12

Sorry - typo. “and many say you don’t need to age cigars for more than a couple of months. In fact, it you age the cigar too long it becomes worse.”

• Options
    VegasFrankVegasFrank Posts: 16,710 ✭✭✭✭✭

I don't think any of us have ever met John, Paul, George, or Ringo, And most of us avoid tobacco beetles by keeping our temperature and humidity correct. Of course, if you are paranoid about tobacco beetles, you can always freeze your cigars when they come in. Two weeks in a deep freeze will kill every egg. However, there's a trick and a science to doing this.

As for aging them, this mostly improves a cigar according to most people, depending on the cigar. Aging allows the tobacco to mature and the flavors of the blend to marry. It also allows some of the more raw tobacco to mellow out a little bit, which brings out more flavor and smooths out the pepper effect a little. However, It's kind of like aspirin for a headache. It's generally a good thing, but if you overdo it, you're in trouble.