Home Cigar 101
Options

Box Pressed?

BlueMan0BlueMan0 Posts: 33 ✭✭✭
edited October 2020 in Cigar 101

Hello my fellow cigar lovers. When I tell you I’m a novice, it’s not false modesty, please excuse my ignorance. I’ve attached a pic of my meager collection :) The four sticks at the top are box pressed, they feel noticeably softer than the hand rolled ones below the divider. Doesn’t seem like a humidity issue to me, do you think these numbers are relatively ok? There’s another Boveda pack in a drawer below the vented surface these sticks a sitting on. Are box pressed cigars generally softer the round, or do I have a problem here? I appreciate any feedback. Just for the record, all of these cigars are new to me, I haven’t smoked any of these brands yet - so I can’t say whether I’m bothered by the softness of one or the firmness of the other. But I will be fire them up pretty soon.

Post edited by BlueMan0 on

Comments

• Options
    YaksterYakster Posts: 25,768 ✭✭✭✭✭

Hi @BlueMan0, I think you're talking about the Java sticks, right? I don't have any experience with these. As their infused cigars I might recommend putting them in their own tupperdor lest they infuse the rest of your cigars with the flavoring.

The humidity looks good, some cigars are softer than others, depending on how they're packed. How do they smoke?

Join us on Zoom vHerf (Meeting # 2619860114 Password vHerf2020 )
  • Options

@Yakster “How do they smoke”... I’ll know this weekend. The last stick I pulled from this humidor was on the softer side but not so much as to make me question it, though it took a little more effort to draw, it was a Gurkha, I’ve gotten the RH a bit lower since then. However, the other sticks below the divider have always kept the same firmness.

Thanks a lot for the tip, I certainly don’t want the Javas flavoring the others... I’ll be moving those right away, actually... right this second. Give them their own space.

• Options
    ShawnOLShawnOL Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭✭✭