Home General Discussion
Options

Whynter CHC-251S

I have 3 coolerators Whynter CHC-251S, 2 are acting up. The temperature displays are way under actual temperature and are no longer cooling. The fans are working, they are no longer pulling out humidity as the drain tray is dry. Called Whynter they said to send them in for repair, they are no longer under warranty and I live in Florida and they have to go to California, no idea what the repair charge would be but shipping would be expensive. I asked can I repair by replacing the board or some other parts, got no answer about that except no parts in stock now. Anyone know about repairing or can a regular repairer fix at home.

Comments

• Options
    CAcigarguy007CAcigarguy007 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm not an electrician but I did stay at a holiday Inn last night. Your can replace the thermostat/controller yourself for relatively cheap. Amazon/ebay for parts and plenty of YouTube videos for the repair. Or dump them for a plastic bin/cooler set up and never have to worry about it agian. :smiley:

• Options
    Amos_UmwhatAmos_Umwhat Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭✭✭

does anyone have one of these Whynter humidors that actually works? Please tell us about it, I'm so tired of these weekly questions about broken ones.

I think the meds are wearing off...my tolerance level is dropping rapidly...best go before Bruce Bannon has to do an intervention

WARNING:  The above post may contain thoughts or ideas known to the State of Caliphornia to cause seething rage, confusion, distemper, nausea, perspiration, sphincter release, or cranial implosion to persons who implicitly trust only one news source, or find themselves at either the left or right political extreme.  Proceed at your own risk.  

"If you do not read the newspapers you're uninformed.  If you do read the newspapers, you're misinformed." --  Mark Twain
  • Options
    VegasFrankVegasFrank Posts: 16,706 ✭✭✭✭✭