Home General Discussion
Options

Modern Humidors

Hi All,
I wanted to float an idea/ask a question here. One thing I have noticed that its nearly impossible to find good, affordable 'modern' looking humidors, most are quite traditional in style.
I wondered what people thought/if there would be a market for it? I am an entrepreneur by trade but while this isnt my field I thought there seemed like a bit of a gap in the market for it. I wonder what everyone thought - or if anyone had any good retail contacts that I could bounce the idea off. Cheers, Joe

Comments

• Options
    peter4jcpeter4jc Posts: 15,441 ✭✭✭✭✭

@UKintexas said:

One thing I have noticed that its nearly impossible to find good, affordable 'modern' looking humidors, most are quite traditional in style.

I wondered what people thought/if there would be a market for it?

The main reason for most things that are impossible to find is that there isn't a market for them.

"I could've had a Mi Querida!"   Nick Bardis
  • Options
    PatrickbrickPatrickbrick Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very few of us use humidors. There is a market for anything though. Go into your local shop and discuss with them. They will be able to tell you if it’s worth trying to get into. Unless you are a damn good woodworker, I’m thinking you would loose your shirt and pants as an investor. Make yourself on the side, couldn’t hurt to try. Have fun.

"We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give".  Winston Churchill.
    MOW badge received.
  • Options
    YaksterYakster Posts: 25,770 ✭✭✭✭✭

A good cooler based humidor in a nice wooden Vernier would be nice and help with WAF. I see plenty of modern humidors from Cuban brands and brands such as Avo and I'm not impressed. Also I'm left pretty cold by Hammer and Sickle glass humidors and Boveda plastic humidors. I don't want to see any modern crap around my cigars. Get off my lawn!