Home Ratings & Reviews
Options

Do highly discounted "deals" on cigars mean they are lower quality or not a good smoke?

BrokegunnerBrokegunner Posts: 437 ✭✭✭✭✭

Last night I went onto Cigar.com and decided to create a custom sampler. As I was completing my order, there was an offer to add a box of 25 Toraño Noventa Santiago cigars for only $65 so I checked the reviews and they seem pretty good but most reviews seemed to be from years ago. I guess I should have looked closer as the Santiago is a smaller size but I guess it's still a decent deal.
I am fairly new to buying cigars online and I guess I am a little apprehensive to be spending money on cheap cigars that I will not end up enjoying. I would like to hear from all of you more experienced Cigar smokers on this subject.... like is it possible to add on a deal and you end up pleased with a $3 cigar? Thanks!!

"Not all heroes eat crepes"

Comments

• Options
    ShawnOLShawnOL Posts: 8,385 ✭✭✭✭✭

While decent cigars can be had at lower price points, you usually get what you pay for.

Trapped in the People's Communits Republic of Massachusetts.

• Options
    Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,016 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2021

I've been in your shoes and bought some of those exact cigars. I would advise you to pass on this add-on. Based on my experience and my preference, they aren't terrible, but $3 deals come along on much better cigars. For example, AJ Fernandez's New World Cameroon I got for $3 a stick awhile back an they are bang for buck excellent. And someone here on the forum gave me a heads up on those. I usually get the best advice from these guys.

• Options

@Bob_Luken said: