Home Non Cigar Related

Sad News, Good News

peter4jcpeter4jc Posts: 15,322 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited August 2022 in Non Cigar Related

Our dear friend, @jlmarta (oldfart as he liked to call himself) has passed. The good news is his troubles and struggles have ended.

@Stubble was realizing that Marty had been on the forum for a while, and the curious and caring person that he is, Steve found the obituary online and asked me to confirm. Yup, middle name Leo, hence jlmarta, and spouse's name was Barbara.

We'll miss you, old timer. I first 'met' Marty on a coffee forum in '14 and when the subject of cigars came up I PM'd him because I was a cigar noob and wanted some direction. Direct me he did, right to this great brotherhood. And then, the same thing played out w/ me and @Yakster. We do in fact impact people, often w/o knowing the extent of it. Marty and I emailed often, about life, cigars, and coffee; he was always kind and inquisitive even at his ripe old age. Thanks, Marty, for all you meant to me, and to us here. You'll be missed.

[https://legacy.com/us/obituaries/appealdemocrat/name/joseph-marta-obituary?id=35945668]

"I could've had a Mi Querida!"   Nick Bardis

Comments

• Hobbes86Hobbes86 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭✭✭

I didn't know him, but I wish I had.

"Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another." - Proverbs 27:17

• First_WarriorFirst_Warrior Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭✭✭

I wish him well on his journey.

• YaksterYakster Posts: 25,534 ✭✭✭✭✭

I always enjoyed Marty's humor and attitude on the forum was lucky enough to meet him in person a couple of times and kept up with him from time to time over text messages. I take comfort that he's been reunited with his child bride now.

Marty will be missed.

I'll gladly bomb you Tuesday for an Opus today. 

Join us on the New Zoom vHerf (Meeting # 2619860114 Password vHerf2020 )
  • genareddoggenareddog Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭✭✭

Rest in peace brother.

• IndustMechIndustMech Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭✭✭

Rest in Peace, Marty.