Home General Discussion

Pelican cases as humidors

PapaWhiskeyPapaWhiskey Posts: 10
edited January 2023 in General Discussion

I've read of people using Pelican cases as humidors and also read people adding cedar. Why the cedar? I've tried cigars over the years and used to smoke cigarettes. I never really liked cigars then someone gave me one I liked and I was hooked. I dropped the cigarettes immediately and started smoking cigars regularly but no inhale so I feel it the healthy choice :) Anyway I bought a 40 count humidor that I quickly outgrew and ever since I've been using progressively larger Pelican cases. Actually I have several I'm using now. A small one for travel and a couple bigger cases as home humidors. I have one pelican case for the bulk of my stock (a couple/few hundred sticks) and another I put new purchases in for a month or so before I move them to the main case. I like this method but I am fairly new to this so please let me know if there is something I should look out for or do in addition to standard humidification. I have some cedar spills sheets in the cases that came with cigar purchases. Should I add more cedar? Anything else? Please advise. Thank you

Comments

• Rdp77Rdp77 Posts: 6,391 ✭✭✭✭✭

Like in the other thread…no cedar necessary. Use Boveda humidification and trust it. Stop worrying.

• YaksterYakster Posts: 27,115 ✭✭✭✭✭

Coolers from Walmart or IRIS weathertight crates from Home Depot are done if the most affordable, full proof ways to store your growing cigar collection.

Some people like the notes Spanish cedar gives to cigars.

Join us on Zoom vHerf (Meeting # 2619860114 Password vHerf2020 )
  • Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,527 ✭✭✭✭✭