Home Cigar 101

Bespoke Humidor design - need help technical help

Dear all,

I am building a Bespoke humidor and I need some advice, the piece is for a client and a cant diclose too much information about the design. So I will do my best to describe it.

Basically I have never built or designed a humidor before and I need information regarding:

Humidity control, ie Humidifyers (I was thinking of using the ciagr spa). also the optimum location.
Temperature control - Thermostats etc.
Air flow - do I need fans etc.

Mainly just the technical stuff, working for a cabnetry firm I have a good understanding of contruction methods and materilas involved. So I just need advice on enviroment controll and kitting it out with Humidifyers, Hygrometrs, Thermostats, fans etc.

The piece:

A SKETCH IS POSTED AT THE LINK BELOW:
http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o10/silverdave123/8026E_humidor_table.jpg

SECTION VIEW:
http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o10/silverdave123/P.jpg

The piece is a smoking table, in the centre is a humador that pops up. The unit is sealed when closed.

Inside the cigars are stored on a cedar A-frame with removable trays.

To be honest I dont know where to start in regards to humidfyer placment fan locations, do  I need to heat or even cool the unit. It will only be holding 100 cigars.

any help along these lines would be most appreciated.

Many thanks

David

Comments

• clearlysuspectclearlysuspect Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭✭
    You shouldn't need any thermostats, cooling, heating, fans, or anything of this sort for a 100 count humidor. If you were building a cabinet that held upward of 1000 cigars then you'd start worrying about things like these.

The main things you're going to need to focus on are:
    1.) Ensure that the humidor is sealed correctly. No air in or out.
    2.) For humidification, look into Heartfelt Beads
    3.) Use a digital hydrometer, not analog.