Home Cigar 101

More Humidity Level Issues

I'm a newbie and I'll start by apoligizing if this is something that's been talked about to death, here's my issue... I have a Yukon 35 to 50 count Humidor I bought online. I don't think I seasoned it correctly by just using the shot glass/distilled water approach, because I couldn't get it above 60 degrees on my digital hygrometer. I bought the Humi-Care Crystal Gel and it arrived in the mail the other day. Because I couldn't get it about 60 degrees I took out my 25 cigars and put them in a cigar box with the Crystals and have tried to reseason my humidor with the shot glass/distilled water again and still can't get it above 60 degrees. What am I doing wrong ? Should I put the cigars back in the humidor with the crystals and let it set for a few days and not worry if it gets over 60 ? I've been reading that in the winter it's tougher to keep the humidity up. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• nightmaremike31nightmaremike31 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭
    Have you salt tested your hygrometer to see how accurate it is?
  • HaysHays Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭
    First question I would have: are you sure your hygrometer is calibrated correctly? If not, you should perform the salt test and calibrate it - then check your humi again.

Then I would check the seal on your humi - the dollar bill test will tell you if you have some seal issues.

If you've done both of these, and you're still low, what I would recommend is that you very lightly wipe down the humi with distilled water, and leave the shot glass in it for a couple days. See where that gets you.
    ¨The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears, or the sea¨ - Isak Dinesen

¨Only two people walk around in this world beardless - boys and women - and I am neither one.¨
  • camgfscamgfs Posts: 968

Hi, and Welcome to the forum (and cigars).