Home General Discussion

Oral cancer scare

Oyam123Oyam123 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭✭✭

I've been smoking cigars for about 30 years, but more the last 10 years averaging about 3-4 a week. Last week I felt a bump in my upper lip and could see and feel it as well. My first thought was Oral cancer from cigar smoking. I couldn't get into my dentist for an oral exam so I got into my primary care for a look. They said Hummm??? better refer you to oral surgery for a consult and biopsy. This was Thursday and I just got the biopsy done today, so I kind of was freaking out all weekend. Things look OK for now, still need final biopsy report in a few days. I had an Oral mucocele that was removed. Its basically a clogged slivery gland, but they are most common on the lower lip and mine was on my upper lip.

The risk of Oral Cancer for cigar smokers is low, but you never know.

So I would advise all the BOTL & SOTL to have an oral exam at the dentist every six months when we go in for a cleaning. If you feel a bump or see something odd, don't dismiss it; have it checked out. Our life and health are worth more than anything so take care of yourselves .

Comments

• deadmandeadman Posts: 8,804 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Glad it turned out OK for you. 
  • dirtdudedirtdude Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Quit freaking out Dave, relax and smoke a cigar, cheers.
    A little dirt never hurt
  • peter4jcpeter4jc Posts: 15,316 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Let's hope the biopsy comes back negative.

And, thanks for bringing this up.  I think the health consequences of smoking cigars, even low, as you say, are kind of off-limits in our conversations both online and at lounges.
    "I could've had a Mi Querida!"   Nick Bardis
  • StubbleStubble Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Glad it looks good to go, hope it stays that way!
    Hey, you gonna eat the rest of that corndog?
  • CharlieHeisCharlieHeis Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Oh sh*t, this is an eye opener. Good luck. Or whatever would sound better than good luck.
  • NorCalR1NorCalR1 Posts: 4,197 ✭✭✭✭✭